Where do you work?
Register To Post

Threaded | Newest First Previous Topic | Next Topic | Bottom
Poster Thread
JGarcia
Posted on: 2004/5/2 7:18
Webmaster
Where do you work?
One of the questions about everyones life I have had is, "Where do you work?" I think that our work so often identifies our self identity, that it is common to want to know what people do for a living. Perhaps we can start this thread with this question and see if it goes elsewhere.
Currently, I am a Spanish teacher at two different private schools. The first school is a joy to work at. I love the children and having been there three years, they have become quite comfortable with me. They greet me throughout the day as I go around the school and they are always happy to see me when they enter my room. The second school I teach at is an inner city school where the children are from a rougher community and some are from broken homes and live with only one parent or even with their grandparents. These children are more difficult to teach and it has taken all of my two years there for them to get used to me. We are doing better now and I have great affection for them but I may not be teaching there next year because I am in graduate school and I may need that time to study for my classes.
Working with children has given me many insights in what it means to be a learner and what makes a good learner. I have presented some short papers on it to my colleagues that have been well received. That subject continues to facinate me and I make some of those applications in my mind as we train in Aikido sometimes. Where do you work and do you ever make Aikido applications in your job?
Anonymous
Posted on: 2004/5/3 21:55
Re: Where do you work?